Artist to Watch

WXPN Radio

The premier guide for new and significant artists in rock, blues, and folk - including NPR-syndicated World Cafe

XPN2 - Jingle Jams

XPN's own Kris Kringle, (Robert Drake) is presenting a unique mix of seasonal songs celebrating both the holiday and winter seasons.

World Cafe Archives

Join the World Cafe through performances and interviews with celebrated and emerging artists.

XPoNential Radio

24/7 Musical discovery. A unique mix of emerging and heritage blues, rock, world, folk, and alt-country artists.

Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros: August 2009's Artist to Watch

They're a big outfit as most indie bands go, but the 13-piece Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros have created quite a buzz in L.A. and in the indie world. Making excellent '60s-style folk rock that could just be called revivalist, with their convert school/tour bus, their back porch acoustics, and their almost communal air, this is one band not to miss.

ES and the MZ are a relatively young group, coming together in 2007 under Ima Robot frontman Alex Ebert. With obvious influences like Polyphonic Spree and Bob Marley, their subsequent sound is big and embracing. They're a modern indie band, but they're also authentic '60s and '70s pop with more than a little psychedelia, bluegrass, and good old southern rock sprinkled throughout.

Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros released their debut EP in May 2009, the buzz-building Here Comes. They just put out their official full-length, Up From Below, in the middle of July. Critics are calling it "lush," "big and windy," and "a lived-in blast from folk rock's past." Ebert's rough voice combined with eclectic instrumentals and a bright, utopian feel are making Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros one of the rising names of 2009 music. They're currently touring the states, but in mid-August they're heading off for a slew of European shows. Then it's back to the states in the fall, with stops in Denver and California.

Recent Release: Up From Below
Release Date: July 14, 2009
Label: Vagrant Records